Laws, Memos, & Policies

Humboldt State

CSU Chancellor's Office

State of California

  • Government Code 11135: requires CSU to comply with the accessibility requirements of Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as amended, and to also apply the US Access Board accessibility standards to the electronic and information technology products and services that it buys, creates, uses and maintains.
  • California Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA), Government Code § 12940 et seq. and Education Code §§ 67302 and 67310-13.

U.S. Government

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) prohibits discrimination against people with disabilities in several areas, including employment, transportation, public accommodations, communications and access to state and local government programs and services.

Rehabilitation Act of 1973

The Rehabilitation Act of 1973 prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability and applies to any program that receives federal financial support.

Section 504

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 forbids organizations and employers from excluding or denying individuals with disabilities an equal opportunity to receive program benefits and services.

Section 508

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 is the law governing accessibility of information technology (IT) in the Federal government.


The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) version 2.0 defines the techniques used to make web content accessible to people with disabilities. Where Section 504 & 508 are the federal laws, WCAG 2.0 is the authoritative guide to meeting section 504 & 508 requirements. WCAG 2.0 defines three levels of compliance: Level A (lowest), Level AA, and Level AAA (highest). Current standards require the CSU to meet at least Level A and Level AA requirements. There are many resources explaining the techniques detailed in WCAG 2.0, but we have compiled some of the most relevant and helpful guides below.